the cook(book)ing school: almost 40 – my healthy cooking (and eating) goal for 2013

So, one of my ultimate goals for the 2013 is to research and find a diet plan that works for me. And I don’t mean diet in the sense that I want a diet with all sorts of restrictions. On the contrary, I want a diet or meal plan that will allow me lots of flexibility, allow me to eat anti-inflammatory foods,  and be creative with my menu planning, while also providing me with some guidelines so that I don’t have to make it all up as I go along. That’s asking for a lot right? No, I don’t think so and here are a few diet and cookbooks I plan to read throughout the year.  And if you have read any of these books listed here or have feedback on how any of them have helped you, please share your comments here:

Crazy Sexy Diet by Kris Carr

This is the only book from my list that I’ve read so far. I picked it up at the local library. I’m glad I got it at the library and didn’t invest in purchasing it. While i did get some handy tips from this book, I was aware of most of the information in it already. But, because I am exploring the idea of anti-inflammatory foods, it was a helpful resource about how to turn your entire health routine around and heal yourself from the inside out.

CSDietREVJKT.indd

 

 

 

 

 

 

Shred: The Revolutionary Diet by Dr. Ian Smith

I plan to read this one next. I saw Dr. Ian Smith on Dr. Oz and this plan just seems so easy. I plan to pick get this in February and begin the program in March, once the countdown to my 40th begins.

shreddiet

 

 

 

 

The Flexitarian Diet by Dawn Jackson Blatner

I have this one already too. Hope to get reading on this soon.

flexitariandiet

 

 

 

 

The 5-Factor Diet by Harley Plasternak

5FactorDiet

 

 

 

 

The  Ultimate Volumetrics Diet by Barbara Rolls

volumetricsdiet

 

 

 

 

The Body Reset Diet by Harley Plasternak

bodyresetdiet

 

 

 

 

Paleo for Beginners by John Chatham

I have started reading this one a little. It’s a very tiny book and a good resource but not exciting to read since there are no photos.

paleoforbeginners

 

 

 

 

Practical Paleo by Diane Sanfilippo

practicalpaleo

 

 

 

 

The Inflammation Free Diet Plan by Monica Reinagel

inflammationfreedietplan

 

 

 

 

The Anti-Inflammation Zone by Dr. Barry Sears

ZoneAntiInflammation

 

 

 

 

 

If you have read any of these books and if they have helped you in any way, please share your comments and reviews.

Thank you for reading the cook(book)ing school

Follow me on twitter: @ivywriter

Leave a Comment

